Thursday, May 20, 2010

World of Outlaws Sprints Set to Make Inaugural Run at Tri-City Speedway May 30: WoO History Rundown

Franklin, PA...Memorial Day weekend will be a memorable one as the World of Outlaws race into Tri-City Speedway for the first time ever. The World of Outlaws, the premier winged sprint car series in the world, has a long and colorful history. For 32 years, the World of Outlaws tour has been invading racetracks and thrilling fans in 23 different states while sanctioning events at some of the most famous dirt racing facilities in the world.

The series is rich in history and tradition. In 1978 when sprint car racing in the United States lacked a true national series, Ted Johnson, a former midget racer from Madison, WI, organized the World of Outlaws sanctioning body. He established a schedule, a set of rules, and a points system to crown a champion of his series. That inaugural season featured 41 events and drivers such as Steve Kinser, Rick Ferkel, Bobby Allen, Doug Wolfgang and Jack Hewitt.

Jimmy Boyd won the series' first event March 18, 1978 at Devil's Bowl Speedway in Mesquite, TX in a non-wing car. This is his only victory in series history. Steve Kinser won his first Outlaws "A" Feature at Eldora Speedway on May 21 and went on to win 11 events and the first championship of what has become a legendary career. Sammy Swindell also won the first two "A" Features of his Outlaws career, and Doug Wolfgang won the Knoxville Nationals at historic Knoxville Raceway.

In 1982, Bobby Davis Jr., the 1980 Rookie of the Year, became the youngest driver to win an Outlaws "A" Feature when he took the checkered flag at Devil's Bowl Speedway, and Brad Dotty garnered top rookie honors.

1987 saw Steve Kinser have the most remarkable season in Outlaws history with 46 "A" Feature victories, including wins in 24 of the final 26 races, an impressive eighth series championship, his fifth Knoxville, Nationals title, his sixth Gold Cup Race of Champions crown, and the short-track record with 56 overall feature victories.

In 1988, rising star and fan favorite, Brad Doty, was left paralyzed from injuries sustained in a crash during the Kings Royal at Eldora. (Brad Doty will be at Tri-City Speedway and will be inducted into the Tri-City Speedway Hall of Fame during this event!)

In 1991 Sammy Swindell won "A" Features at New York State Fair Speedway and Rolling Wheels Raceway, both on October 12. To this day, he is the only driver to win two "A" Features on the same day.

Over the years, many well-known drivers have raced in the World of Outlaws sprints series. They include Steve Kinser, 20 time series champion; Erin Crocker, the first female to win a World of Outlaws main event; and Joey Saldana, who won 20 features in 2009. Several current NASCAR drivers, including Jeff Gordon, Tony Stewart, Kasey Kahne, and Dave Blaney, also got their starts driving World of Outlaws sprints.

Tri-City Speedway owner, Rich Hetrick says, "The World of Outlaws drivers are the best of the best! This is an event that fans do not want to miss!" Be sure to be part of this amazing racing action!

Hot laps will begin at 6:30p.m. Time Trials start at 7:00p.m.

Pre-Sale tickets are still available by calling the office at 814-676-3000. Pre-Sale ticket purchasers are able to enter the gates at 2p.m. and tickets will be sold at the gate on race night beginning at 3p.m.

For more information please visit or call 814-676-3000.

The Legend Lives On...Tri-City Speedway!