Saturday, December 05, 2009

Sean Michael Joins Brother Curt on #5G team‏


Valley Forge, PA (December 5, 2009)…Michael brothers, Curt and Sean, are teaming up once again—this time for the Bill Gallagher-owned #5G URC 360 sprint car team.

Next season, Sean will serve as crew chief and mechanic for his brother Curt. Sean will replace Todd Rittenhouse, who is retiring after 19 years with the team.

“Sean has been instrumental--and inspirational--throughout my entire career, helping me set up my cars and supporting me. I’m looking forward to working with him again,” said Curt. “And of course I want to thank Todd for his many years of service and the championship win in ‘08. I’ve really enjoyed my time working with him. I wish Todd and his family the best.”

Curt and Sean ended last season working together at Lowe’s Motor Speedway, Charlotte, NC, for October’s World of Outlaws World Finals, when Curt was in the seat of the #27 Heffner Racing Enterprises car. Sean had been the main driver of the #27 until a devastating crash last May sidelined him for the remainder of the season. Still recuperating from a shattered knee, Sean will drive select races for Heffner Racing next season, providing they don’t conflict with the #5G schedule. No word on who will pilot the #27 full time.

“I’ve always been involved with prepping my race cars, but while rebuilding the #27 during my recuperation, I realized that I enjoyed working on the cars almost as much as driving them,” said Sean. “Curt and I have raced together and worked together and I look forward to doing so again. We’re both grateful to Bill for giving us the opportunity.”

Sean is a former URC champion himself and Curt says having his brother on the team is comforting for a number of reasons.

“Sean has always been mechanically inclined; he can weld and drive the truck and trailer, so the equipment will be well taken care of. I won’t have to worry about anything,” Curt stated.

For more information about Curt Michael and the #5G team, go to or call 302-537-9253.

About the Bill Gallagher #5G Team
The Bill Gallagher #5G team is a Valley Forge-based, 360 sprint car team, owned by Bill Gallagher. The team, piloted by Curt Michael, competes in the URC series. Michael, a six-time URC champion, joined the team in 07-08, securing the championship in the team’s first year together. Sponsors for the #5G are Valley Forge, Inc., GEI Enterprises, Heffner Racing Enterprises,, Kruger Trailers, Seaford DE Harley-Davidson, Dick Feeser Realtor, K&N Air Filters.



Franklin PA…Tri-City Speedway’s popular pre-race radio show, “Turn 5”, returns to the fast half-mile track for the 2010 race season with help from first-time track sponsor, Gilmore Floors.

Today, Gilmore Floors, a licensed contractor for commercial and residential properties serving the Western PA area, was announced as the Official 2010 Sponsor of the popular KQW 96.3FM pre-race radio show, “Turn 5” for its second season at the track and on-air.

“Turn 5” began as an idea at the beginning of the 2009 race season between Tri-City Speedway owner, Rich Hetrick and KQW Sports Director, Joe Lodanosky. The FM show concentrates on entertaining race fans with up-close and personal driver interviews and getting the drivers publicity and airtime to talk about their rivals, point standings, sponsors, and dirt track racing in general.

“The original idea was to have a pre-race show a few times at the track to get drivers on the air and their voices into the stands,” said H&H Motorsports owner Rich Hetrick. The positive responses from the drivers, sponsors, and the fans were so significant that H&H and KQW decided to host the show at the track every racing Sunday.

With captivating co-hosts Joe Lodanosky, Sports Director at KQW, and Brian Spaid, Track Announcer at Tri-City Speedway, “Turn 5” was a hit the first night it aired. “It’s a hit not only on air, but in the grandstands and pit area at the track as well. It’s the unique combination of personalities between Joe, Brian, and the drivers that keep the crowd listening and the audience tuning in,” said Hetrick.

“Turn 5” is an original and important asset to Tri-City Speedway. H&H is pleased to welcome Gilmore Floors into the action.

For more information, please visit or contact the track office at (814) 676-3000.

Tri-City Speedway is owned and operated by H&H Motorsports promoting Sunday night racing at the popular facility. The DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds, FASTRAK Late Models, E Mods, and Pro Stocks race each week at the Venango County half-mile dirt oval. Tri-City is located seven miles north of Franklin, Pa., off State Route 417.

Kristen Edelmann

Marketing Director
H&H Motorsports, Tri-City Speedway
phone: 814-676-3000
fax: 814-677-9283

K-C Raceway honors champions

By Scott Wolfe

WAVERLY, OHIO- Jeff and Vicki Schrader's K-C Raceway near Chillicothe, Ohio honored its 2009 champions and top ten in points recently with a fine meal and awards banquet at the Waverly American Legion Post. Crowned champions in the various divisions were Jimmy Nier, Piketon, Ohio 410 Sprints; Delmas Conley, Wheelersburg, Ohio, Late Models; Rick Hensley, Oak Hill, Advanced Services Modifieds; and Bruce Gray, Jr., Chillicothe, Hobby Stocks.

Rounding out the top ten in 410 Sprint points were Jimmy Nier, 385, Track Champion; Danny Smith, 337; Jimmy Stinson, 336; Aaron Higgins, 321; Josh Davis, 295; Mark Imler, 279; Keith Baxter,270; Adam Strausser, 243; Alec Martin, 229; and Cole Duncan 227. In the Late Models behind champion Delmas Conley,487; were Eddie Carrier, Jr., 399; Bart Hartman, 335; Jason Montgomery, 322; Greggie Oliver, 257; Ben Adkins, 227; Keith Berner, 222; R. J. Conley, 221; Barry Doss, 219; and Rod Conley, 216.
In the Advanced Services Modified division the 2009 champion was Rick Hensley, 644; Fireball Pinkerton, 573; Brian Whiteman, 528; Bob Crace, Jr., 489; Adam Lawson, 437; Jamey Adams, 422; Sean Schobelock, 392; Jason Cottrill, 379; Fred Hardbarger, 376; and Jason Montgomery, 348. In the Hobby Stock division behind 2009 Champ Bruce Gray, Jr., 532, was Jamie Adams, 512; Jayme Dailey, 506; Joe Williams, 503; Tommy Mossbarger, 468; Richard Trego, 434; Brandon Thompson, 424; Tracey Ross, 388; Jason Holstein, 341; and Warren Ison, 320.

In addition to banquet honors Jeff Schrader announced that K-C would be going with the Goodyear Tire rule in the 410 Sprint Car division in 2010, while signing on with the AMRA sanction for both the Modified and Late Model Divisions. Bazell Oil and Race Fuels was named as the title sponsor for the 2010 Points' series.

Announcer Bruce Hines served as Master of Ceremonies of the event and announced other award winners for the evening. John Arthurs was named Most Improved in the Late Model division; Alec Martin in the 410 Sprint Division was named as the Rookie of the Year for all divisions; Brandi Bower was named Most Improved in the 410 Sprints; Hoyt Reynolds was Most Improved in the Modifieds; Tracy Ross was Most Improved in the Hobby Stocks; and veteran Bud Frazier was named the winner of the Eldon Shoemaker Award for class, longevity and competitivness,loyalty, honor, and promotion of the sport of racing.

K-C plans to open its gates in 2010 in early to mid-April. For upcoming information please visit the K-C Raceway website at